Chapel of Spiritual Fellowship

Reverends Ron and Barbara Wills

UCM #723, Thornton, Colorado

I just wanted to let you know about something I’m doing this summer that has me pretty excited. The American Liver Foundation is hosting their annual Liver Life Walk on Sunday 08/09/09. This year I am raising money for research and services that support people affected by liver disease.

Like many, you may not be familiar with the prevalence of liver disease and importance of supporting this important health cause. What I did not realize is how startling the statistics of liver disease actually are. 

  •  

    • 1 out of every 10 Americans is affected by about 100 types of liver disease.

    • That is 30 million people — the number of people in the United States which is the same number of people who live in America’s 15 largest cities combined.

    • 60% of the 26,000 people who die each year from cirrhosis have no history of alcohol abuse.

    • Nearly 17,000 people are on the waiting list for a liver transplant.

Even though I have been fortunate that liver disease has not directly affected me or anyone in my family, I don’t want to wait until it does to make a difference. This cause IS near and dear to the hearts of 30 million Americans across the country and I am choosing to participate to show my support for each one of them and their families.

Please consider sponsoring me in the walk. My goal for the walk is to raise $150.00. Though any amount you can give will make a difference, if everyone I’m asking donates $25 I’ll easily reach my fundraising goal in no time and we’ll be one step closer to a day when liver disease is a cause only written about in history books.

For further details, to make a donation, please check out my personal webpage at www.liverfoundation.org/walk, select “Find A Walk,” search for Denver Colorado and search for Darren’s Dasher

Thank you each so much for your support!

Sincerely

Ron and Barbara Wills

Darren’s Dashers

Tags:

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,412 other followers

