JoyFul Noise June 4th 2009 Edition

JoyFul Noise – Volume 8 page 23 (06-04-09) -Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

All are welcome to Sunday Celebration at the Center for Creative Living, UCM Charter #801, at 1460 Koll Circle, Suite “C” – services in back. Need directions? Visit www.doti.info Healing Chairs (come give or receive a hands-on-healing) start at 9:30am. Celebration is from 10:00 to 11:30am. Dress is casual, kids welcome and hugs encouraged!
Rev. Anne Corbin will be discussing “Walking The Balance Beam.” Also, the serendipity Choir will be performing for us this Sunday. What a treat – Rev. Anne and the Serendipity Choir – all on the same day!
Please bring any and all FLAG stories for Flag Day on June 14th. We will be sharing and talking about “What the Flag Means” on that Sunday. If you were born in another country – bring your country’s flag and talk about it! Also, if you want to talk about the California flag, the Gay flag, etc. please bring your flag and a short talk!

Affirmation – I affirm I will stop “assuming” bad things about people.

Assumptions From Pat Obuchowski

There is an old saying that says that when we assume something about someone it makes an ASS out of U and ME. I don’t know the origin of it, but I can tell you I have experienced it so many times, I stopped counting. Just yesterday, I was reminded again.
I had a dentist’s appointment and drove into a spot in the parking lot and parked right next to a painter’s truck. I passed through the hallway and saw the painters painting the bathrooms. I even said ‘hello’ in my usual friendly manner and continued on to my appointment.
Well, the dentist was running late which caused me to run late. I left the building a bit frazzled as I was now running late for a client appointment even though I left plenty of time between appointments.
When I got outside, on my brand new white SMART Passion car were small spots of white drops all over the roof, rear end and passenger side. Imagine. Brand new car, just washed the day before, and now there are white spots all over the car.
After I got over the initial shock I naturally remembered there was a painter’s truck parked right next to my car which was now gone, and of course, it was their paint on the car!
I stormed back into my dentist’s office and demanded to know who the property manger was as the painter’s materials were still there, but they were not.
The receptionist contacted the manager who in turn contacted the painters and had them return immediately.
I commiserated with several people in the office about how awful it was and they told me don’t let them touch the car but take it to a body shop and wasn’t it awful that people just don’t care any more.
Well, I went back outside and there were the painters. They came to my car and told me that it could not possibly be their paint. If it was paint, it would have dried to a really hard finish and be very hard to get off and besides, they were not even working with white paint.
So as I looked closer, sure enough, it was, to put it mildly, bird poop!
Imagine my embarrassment. Imagine what an ass I felt like because of my assumption. I apologized profusely and with that the painter grabbed a rag and proceeded to clean my car for me!
I truly believe this was a great reminder to me to check my assumptions.
As I drove to my client’s office I began to look at some other assumptions I was making about a few other situations in my life and was able to get a different perspective. What assumptions are you making?

“Begin challenging your own assumptions. Your assumptions are your windows on the world. Scrub them off every once in awhile, or the light won’t come in.” Alan Alda

Stephen Covey: The 8th Habit from Effectiveness to Greatness

I have also found that by making four simple assumptions in our lives we can immediately begin leading a more balanced, integrated, powerful life.
They are simple–one for each part of our nature–but I promise you that if you do them consistently, you will find a new wellspring of strength and integrity to draw on when you need it most.
1. For the body–assume you’ve had a heart attack; now live accordingly.
2. For the mind–assume the half-life of your profession is two years; now prepare accordingly.
3. For the heart–assume everything you say about another, they can overhear; now speak accordingly.
4. For the spirit–assume you have a one-on-one visit with your Creator every quarter; now live accordingly.
********************************

“Most of our assumptions have outlived their uselessness.”
~Marshall McLuhan
“The least questioned assumptions are often the most questionable.”
~Paul Broca
“Assumptions allow the best in life to pass you by.”
~John Sales
“Assumptions are the termites of relationships.”
~Henry Winkler
“In a start-up company, you basically throw out all assumptions every three weeks.”
~William Lyon Phelps
“The harder you fight to hold on to specific assumptions, the more likely there’s gold in letting go of them.”
~John Seely Brown
“The creative individual has the capacity to free himself from the web of social pressures in which the rest of us are caught. He is capable of questioning the assumptions that the rest of us accept.”
~John W. Gardner
********************************
Assumption Humor

The thing that I hate about tall people is that they just assume that the rest of us want to be tall. That’s not true. That’s just like people with hair just assume that everyone without hair wants to have hair. That is true.
********************************

METAPHYSICAL CLASSES
Thurs. June 4th and June 18th 7 to 9 $15. per person or 2 for $25.

HOW TO SEE AND READ AURAS
Join acclaimed minister, lecturer and teacher Rev. Doti Boon as she teaches you how to see auras – and what their energy means in your life.
********************************

Happenings at The Center

June 7th – SERENDIPITY CHOIR performs for Sunday Celebration

June 7th and 21st – CCL Singers Rehearse after service at 1:00.

June 8th – every Mon. 7 to 9 GENTLE YOGA with Krishnapryia (Laura Marshall) a yoga class for the older, and out of shape folks. Also exciting for those returning to Yoga after many years. Bring a mat and blanket – or use one of ours.

June 9th – every Tues. 6:30 to 8:30 DRUMMING WITH NORBETH and FRIENDS. Bring your drum or borrow one of ours to join in with the musical magic of drums, rattles, flutes and even a didgeridoo. Love Donation.

June 10th – every second Wed. 7 to 9 CO-ED GODDESS CLASS with Rev. April Lussier and Rev. Anne Corbin

June 21st – Acupressure for Pain Management 1:00pm to 4:00pm with Michael Berry. Learn simple, effective, non-invasive techniques for managing pain. Eliminate all forms of stress-induced pain including back pain, carpal tunnel and many headaches – even migraines – all without drugs, surgery or other invasive practices. $25. if paid by June 21st or $39. after June 21st or at the door.

June 24th – Metaphysical Movie Night – “FOR THE BIBLE TELLS ME SO. . . A look at Homosexuality and the Bible” 7 to 9 – $5. – plus FREE popcorn and discussion afterwards!

Life is meant to be a joyous celebration!
Love and Light,
Rev. Doti

PS from Reverend Clark:

Having just returned from the High School Graduation of my twin grandchildren, Tonya and Travis, I found myself very emotional at this rite of passage for them and their classmates. I know of several of our ministers who have or will be graduating from college degree programs and the granddaughter of Reverend Doti Boon graduated from college at the end of May. Congratulations to all the graduates in the class of 2009!

My thanks to everyone who helped with and also to those who attended our Annual Meeting. We are in the process of working on the minutes and expect to have them mailed out to you by mid June.

It’s been pretty quiet on the patio, and our mom-to-be Dove is just sitting in her nest. We now have a pair of I think Robins who come and take baths in the fountain. One splashes water all over the place, and looks pretty wet when he hops back up on the fence.

We are part of the Associate Programs offered by both Amazon.com, and Barnes&Noble.com. This means when you enter either of these websites through ours, UCM receives a commission on your purchases. Should you need to leave either website before completing your purchase you need to again go through our web site for us to receive the commission.

The Joyful Noise Newsletter is sent directly from our UCM office. If you would like to forward this email to friends and/or family, please do so. For those of you who are not on our “Joyful Noise” email list and would like to receive this directly from us, there is a subscribe link below, or you can subscribe on our website at www.u-c-m.org. Select Contact Us, Newsletter.

Reverend Sandy Clark
President
Universal Church of the Master

Tags:

Leave a Reply

