Joyful Noise Celebrating its’ 375th Issue

tree6U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter,

and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

http://safedoti@aol.com

Volume 8 page 46 (11-12-09)

AFFIRMATION

I am proud to support my country!

Refreshing Your Patriotism

          While driving to work yesterday morning (11-11) I was amazed by all of the half-staff flags. I know that these flags represented not only Veteran’s Day but also were in honor of our fallen military and civilians in the Ft. Hood tragedy. Each flag produced an emotional response within me. Some of the feelings were sad, a few of them were angry and some provoked patriotic reminders. I recalled the wars I have lived through, family and friends who have served in the military and the negativities that still exist in our country.

          Many members of the Universal Church of the Master and CCL are veterans. We have men and women who have been in Viet Nam, The Gulf Wars and some who have served in Iraq. They stand proudly in the sanctuary when we discuss the Fourth of July and other historic holidays.

My great-grandfather was a drummer boy in the Civil War; my grandfather fought in the Spanish American War and my father was the youngest captain in the Pacific during World War II. I have a brother, a brother-in-law, a half-sister and two half-brothers who have served. Some are still living – others like my uncle perished fighting for his country. I know that many of you reading this were either in the military or have had members of your family who have served in various capacities. Please take this opportunity to thank them. Maybe you could call, write, e-mail, or drop by.

          As I write this – it is still Veteran’s Day 11-11-09. And, the ghosts of fallen soldiers are talking to me. They speak to me of liberty, freedom, courage and bravery. They whisper tales of extreme hardship, degradation, and cruelty. But most of all they express the love they felt for their country and how important freedom was to them.

          Do you feel that life throws us a curveball when we witness horrendous cruelty, major hostility or even our own illness or money troubles? It’s easy to feel disconnected from your faith and your appreciation of your country. Quite often when I feel very uninspired – I ask for a sign.

          And – usually the sign is a penny lying on the ground. Its value is in the message, not the materialism.

          The face of a penny contains three messages: The word Liberty, reminds us we are all free to be ourselves. The picture of Abraham Lincoln, facing forward, reminds us to accept our mortality and live in the moment. And above all is the phrase “In God we trust.” When I find a penny – I pick it up and know that God is showing me there is abundance and reminding me to appreciate who I am, what I’m doing and the country where I live. These found coins are pennies from heaven – crumbs left for me to follow home. They are always an uplifting experience.

          And now, let’s read those who have gone before us – as they speak of freedom and liberty:

“Proclaim liberty throughout all the land unto all the inhabitants thereof.”

                   King James Bible – inscribed on the Liberty Bell

“Liberty of thought is the life of the soul.”

                   Voltaire (essay on Epic Poetry) 1727

“The God who gave us life, gave us liberty at the same time.”

                   Thomas Jefferson – 1774

“The love of liberty is the love of others; the love of power is the love of ourselves.”

                   William Hazlitt – 1819

“True liberty acknowledges and defends the equal rights of all men, and all nations.”

                   Gerrit Smith – 1854

“Whenever I hear any one, arguing for slavery I feel a strong impulse to see it tried on him personally.”

                   Abraham Lincoln – 1865

“None who have always been free can understand the terrible fascinating power of the hope of freedom to those who are not free.”

                   Pearl S. Buck – 1943

“If men and women are in chains, anywhere in the world, then freedom is endangered everywhere.”

                   John F. Kennedy – 1962 

“You can’t separate peace from freedom because no one can be at peace unless he has his freedom.”

                   Malcolm X – 1965

The following was passed on to me by Christine Milly:

When doing your Holiday cards this year, take one card and send it to this address. If we pass this on think of how many cards these special people will get. You might want to say – Christmas, Hanukkah, Yule or Kwanzaa on the outside of the card! Or, just “thank you…”

A Recovering American Soldier

c/o Walter Reed Army Medical Center

6900 Georgia Avenue, NW

Washington, D.C. 20307-5001

If you aren’t buying cards this year – pick one up from the Center sign it with a message and we will mail it for you. The season of thankfulness and giving is upon us!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

