Joyful Noise

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

 

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

safedoti@aol.com

Volume 9 page 12 (3-25-10)

AFFIRMATION

I am excited about Spring and New Beginnings

          I woke up this morning all excited because the sun was shining, a slight breeze was moving the trees and the day seemed perfect to hang out my wash! I came fully awake and realized that my washer and dryer were working beautifully and I had just flashed back to a previous life. 

          So – I took hanging out wash as a trigger/focal point and followed that thread through many incarnations. Seeing myself as a young woman on the prairie, standing beside a large galvanized water tank with a washboard protruding over the top. The air was clear, the sun was bright and I was wringing out sheets and hanging them on a line stretched from a corner of a sod cabin to a large pole staked in the back yard. I was pregnant and the sheets were so heavy as I was straining to through them over the wire line. A small tow- headed boy played with some wooden clothespins on the ground beside me. Suddenly a large nanny goat ran through the backyard and knocked over the pole holding up my wash line. All of the clean wet sheets fell onto the dirt. I sat and cried and slumped into a heap. My little son came and comforted me by wriggling into my nearly non-existent lap – sucking his thumb.

          The next vision I was standing in a waterfall. I was a young African man of about 14 and I was wringing out my long white stained robe as the ice cold water splashed over my thin body.

          And the last one I was a Roman soldier kneeling next to a raging river. My armor was sitting in a heap and I was washing out my clothes, wringing them out and spreading various garments on a large flat sun warmed rock. A hunting horn rang out through the woods and I looked up to see a garrison of men riding my way.

          I rolled over in bed and thought of all the people in all of the centuries that spent hours washing clothes, getting them dry, only to be put back on and dirtied once more. I rose up smiling, as I thought of my white shiny Kenmore appliances ready to accept the dirty clothes and return clean ones.

          I thought of all the recent emails remembering the “good old days,” I figured they were written by people who never had to wash clothes by hand over a washboard or hang diapers or sheets on a line in a howling wind or stand in icy streams.

SEASONAL INSPIRATION

We’ve had our first quarter into the new year and truly everyone is grateful and excited by treating this year as a New Beginning!

Most of us are doing our best to make THIS quarter something special so we can make a good and quick recovery from last year!

Spring is renewal time! Just look at the weather and how it is warming up – both the earth and our spirits. Nature has presented us with a brand new playground of beauty!

Let us lift our spirits and bring love into our everyday lives. Let’s meet new people and make new friends.

Let’s go places we’ve not gone before and bring new people with us!

Let’s do more one-on-one’s and give people our time and assistance when they need it!

And let us be thankful for all that is around us –for living in sunny California with its natural beauty – in the distance – green mountains – are so miraculous to behold – the beaches that are so close – trees that are budding new blooms and the baby animals arriving in the fields.

We are so fortunate!

SPRING JOKES

With permission by JoyceAnne Pierce

Reverend Norton woke up Sunday morning, since it was a sunny Spring day; decided he wanted to play golf. So…he told the Associate Pastor that he was feeling sick and convinced him to do the sermon for him that day.

As soon as the Associate Pastor left the room, Rev. Norton headed out of town to a golf course about forty miles away. This way he knew he wouldn’t accidentally meet anyone he knew from his parish.

Setting up on the first tee, he was alone. After all, it was Sunday morning and everyone else was in church! At about this time, Saint Peter leaned over to the Lord while looking down from the heavens and exclaimed, “You’re not going to let him get away with this, are you?”

The Lord sighed, and said, “No, I guess not.”

Just then Reverend Norton hit the ball and it shot straight towards the pin, dropping just short of it, rolled up and fell into the hole. It WAS A 420-YARD HOLE IN ONE!

St. Peter was astonished. He looked at the Lord and asked, “Why did you let him do that?”

The Lord smiled and replied, “Who’s he going to tell?”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Four high school boys afflicted with spring fever skipped morning classes. After lunch they reported to the teacher that they had a flat tire.

Much to their relief she smiled and said, “Well, you missed a test today so take seats apart from one another and take out a piece of paper.”

Still smiling, she waited for them to sit down. Then she said: “First Question: Which tire was flat?”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Joyful Noise”

  1. Mitchel Laiche Says:

    I like your website for informing a lot of people, it’s just sometimes people seem to get themselves tied up in unnecessary trips over something that’s very simple .

    • ourucm Says:

      Mitchel,
      We are so glad that you are enjoying the website. It does seem that at this moment in time our planet is pretty overwhelming for many. It is our hope that at UCM we can share a little “unconditional love”, information that might help and the message that we are all here together whatever our spiritual path.
      Reverend Angela DeBry

Leave a Reply

