Joyful Noise

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

http://safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 9 pg. 30 (07-29-10)

 

Affirmation

God is in every one of us!

                A member of a certain church, who previously attended services regularly, stopped going. After a few weeks, the preacher decided to visit him.

          It was a chilly evening. The preacher found the man at home alone, sitting before a blazing fire. Guessing the reason for his preachers visit, the man welcomed him, led him to a comfortable chair near the fireplace and waited.

          The preacher made himself at home but said nothing. In the grave silence, he contemplated the dance of the flames around the burning logs. After some minutes, the preacher took the fire tongs, carefully picked up a brightly burning ember and placed it

to one side of the hearth all alone then he sat back in his chair, still

silent.

          The host watched all this in quiet contemplation. As the one lone ember’s flame flickered and diminished, there was a momentary glow and then its fire was no more. Soon it was cold and dead.

          Not a word had been spoken since the initial greeting. The preacher glanced at his watch and realized it was time to leave. He slowly stood up, picked up the cold, dead ember and placed it back in the middle of the fire. Immediately it began to glow once more with the light and warmth of the burning coals around it.

          As the preacher reached the door, his host said with a tear running down his cheek, ‘Thank you so much for your visit and especially for the fiery sermon. I shall be back in church next Sunday.’

          We live in a world today, which tries to say too much with too little. Consequently, few listen. Sometimes the best sermons are the ones left unspoken.

BLUE ROSE

submitted by Rev. Jan Ewers

          Saturday my wife was very busy, so I offered to go to the store to get some needed items; light bulbs, paper towels, trash bags, etc.

          I scurried around the store, and headed for the checkout counter, only to be blocked in the narrow aisle by a young man who appeared to be about sixteen-years-old. I wasn’t in a hurry, so I waited for the boy to realize I was there. He waved his hands excitedly in the air and declared in a loud voice, “Mommy, I’m here.”

          It was obvious he was mentally challenged, and also startled as he turned and saw me standing behind him. His eyes widened and surprise exploded on his face.

           “Hey Buddy, what’s your name?” I asked.

          “My name is Denny and I’m shopping with my mother,” he responded proudly.

          “Wow,” I said, “that’s a cool name; I wish my name was Denny, but my name is Steve.”

          “Steve, like Stevarino?” he asked.

          “Yes,” I answered. “How old are you Denny?”

          “How old am I now, Mommy?” he asked his mother as she slowly came over from the next aisle. “You’re fifteen-years-old, Denny; now be a good boy and let the man pass by.”

          I acknowledged her and continued to talk to Denny for several more minutes about summer, bicycles, and school. I watched his brown eyes dance with excitement because he was the center of someone’s attention. He then abruptly turned and headed toward the toy section.

          Denny’s mom had a puzzled look on her face and thanked me for taking the time to talk with her son. She told me that most people wouldn’t even look at him, much less talk to him. I told her that it was my pleasure and then I said something I have no idea where it came from, other than by the prompting of the Holy Spirit.

          I told her that there are plenty of red, yellow, and pink roses in God’s Garden; however, “Blue Roses” are very rare and should be appreciated for their beauty and distinctiveness. You see, Denny is a Blue Rose and if someone doesn’t stop to smell that rose with their heart and touch that rose with their kindness, then they’ve missed a blessing from God.

          She was silent for a second, then with a tear in her eye she asked, “Who are you?”

          Without thinking I said, “Oh, I’m probably just a dandelion, but I sure love living in God’s garden.”

          She reached out with tears in her eyes, squeezed my hand, and said, “God bless you!” And then I had tears in my eyes!

          May I suggest the next time you see a BLUE ROSE, don’t turn your head and walk off. Take time to smile and say Hello. Why? Because, by the grace of GOD, this mother or father could be you. This could be your child, grandchild, niece, or nephew. What a difference a moment can mean to that person or their family.

          From an Old Dandelion!

Live simply. Love generously. Care deeply. Speak kindly.

Leave the rest to God.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

National Cheesecake Day

July 30th

What a great day. Did you know that people have been eating cheesecake for thousands of years? It is said that it was served to the athletes at the first Olympic Games held in 776 BC. Other historians have traced the cheesecake back as far as 2000 BC.

When the Romans conquered Greece, they fell in love with the cheesecake. They are credited with spreading it around the world.

So on July 30th, enjoy a nice piece of cheesecake and any other time the spirit moves you.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

