A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

 

The 14th Dalai Lama, a renowned Tibetan Buddhi...

His Holiness The Dalai Lama Image via Wikipedia

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

http://safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 9 pg. 40 (10-07-10)

AFFIRMATION

I show compassion to all I know.

I was watching the media reports concerning the horrible bullying that has been going on in this country. Many of our young people have been committing suicide over the hazing and ugly epithets thrown at them – resulting in a feeling of unworthiness. In fact, the mother of just such a young man came in to see me at my office this week. How do you explain to a grieving mother that “words” killed her son?

          All of these emotions started jumping around in my head – crying out – where is the empathy? Where is the compassion?

          As usual – one of those miraculous coincidences happened – I opened my mail – and had received a copy of Toward a True Kinship of Faiths – How the World’s Religions Can Come Together, written by His Holiness The Dalai Lama. And, I just “happened” to turn to page 60 and read the prayer of Saint Francis:

                   Lord, make me an instrument of Thy peace;

                   Where there is hatred, let me sow love;

                   Where there is injury, pardon,

                   Where there is doubt, faith:

                   Where there is darkness, light

                   And where there is sadness, joy.

                   Oh divine Master,

Grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console.

                   To be loved, as to love;       

                   For it is in giving that we receive,

                   It is in pardoning that we are pardoned,

                   And it is in dying that we are born to Eternal Life.  

And, on the next page was this beautiful poem by the Buddhist Shantideva:    

                   May I be a protector for the unprotected;

                   A guide for travelers on the way:

                   A boat, a raft or a bridge

                   For those who long to cross to the other shore. 

                   May I be an isle for those who seek an island;

                   A lamp for those who wish for light;

                   A shelter for those in need of rest;

                   A servant for those in need of service.

                             (Bodhicaryavatara 3:17-18)

Both of these amazing works talk about compassion. I caressed the Dalai Lama’s book and started to feel empathetic towards all of those young men and women who have not received this loving and compassionate energy. The pain of living had become too great because of other people’s prejudices.

But, just in case I hadn’t gotten “the message” there was a piece of paper, stuck into the book, containing the following:

How do you become compassionate? In San Jose, CA, USA on October 12: His Holiness The Dalai Lama will give a teaching on Geshe Langri Thangpa’s Eight Verses of Training.

1. By thinking of all sentient beings

As more precious than a wish-fulfilling jewel

For accomplishing the highest aim,

I will always hold them dear.

2. Whenever I’m in the company of others,

I will regard myself as the lowest among all,

And from the depths of my heart

Cherish others as supreme.

3. In my every action, I will watch my mind,

And the moment destructive emotions arise,

I will confront them strongly and avert them,

Since they will hurt both me and others.

4. Whenever I see ill-natured people,

Or those overwhelmed by heavy misdeeds or suffering,

I will cherish them as something rare,

As though I’d found a priceless treasure.

5. Whenever someone out of envy

Does me wrong by attacking or belittling me,

I will take defeat upon myself,

And give the victory to others.

6. Even when someone I have helped,

Or in whom I have placed great hopes

Mistreats me very unjustly,

I will view that person as a true spiritual teacher.

7. In brief, directly or indirectly,

I will offer help and happiness to all my mothers,

And secretly take upon myself

All their hurt and suffering.

8. I will learn to keep all these practices

Untainted by thoughts of the eight worldly concerns.

May I recognize all things as like illusions,

And, without attachment, gain freedom from bondage.

I am often amazed by the compassion shown by Jesus as he suffered for his fellow beings. For example, as quoted by John in the Gospels: “Greater love has no one than this, that he lay down his life for his friends; and again: “My command is this: Love each other” (John 15:12-18). Further Jesus says, “But I tell you: Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.” (Matt. 5:43-4)

          The following is also quoted from Toward a True Kinship of Faiths –by His Holiness The Dalai Lama: “The image of Jesus on the cross – taking on himself the suffering of all beings is deeply inspiring. Such self-sacrifice, born out of altruism and universal love for all beings, is a perfect example of what Buddhists might term the Bodhisattva ideal.

          Christianity offers an incredibly intimate and moving symbol of love, in the image of Mary holding the baby Jesus. This links up with the deep meaning of motherhood as the ground for compassion, and it evokes the universal human need for love and affection.”     

The following are words of Compassion: Where the world’s religions come together. If you have more – please forward them so we can accumulate an amazing array of compassionate quotes from around the world.

In Daoism, the Daodejing states at Chap. 67

                   Because of compassion, I can be brave

                   Because of moderation, I can be generous

                   When heaven wants to establish someone,

                   It encircles him with compassion.                                     

          As written by the famous Jewish sage, Rabbi Judah Loew, the Maharal of Prague (1525-1609) (Nesivos Olam, Ahas Harli, I)

Love of all creatures is also love of God, for whoever loves the One God loves all the works that He has made. When one loves God, it is impossible not to love His creatures. The opposite is also true. If one hates the creatures, it is impossible to love God Who created them.                                        

By the Prophet Muhammad, Hadith

All creatures are God’s children, and those dearest to God are those who treat His children kindly

From the Beatitudes – Matt. 5: 6-9

Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.

Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.

          Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called sons of God.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

FUNNIES, FOR YOUR SPIRITUAL and PHYSICAL PLEASURE

Procrastination isn’t the problem, it’s the solution. So procrastinate now, don’t put it off.”

 – Ellen DeGeneres

“The only function of economic forecasting is to make astrology look respectable.”

 -John Kenneth Galbraith

“A bone to the dog is not charity. Charity is the bone shared with the dog, when you are just as hungry as the dog.”

 -Jack London

The Yogi walked into the Zen Pizza Parlor and said: “Make me one with everything.” The Yogi got the pizza, and gave the proprietor a $20 bill. The proprietor pocketed the bill. The Yogi said “Don’t I get any change?” The proprietor said, “Change must come from within!”

Dear God, so far today, I’ve done all right. I haven’t gossiped, and I haven’t lost my temper. I haven’t been grumpy, nasty or selfish, and I’m really glad of that! But in a few minutes, God, I’m going to get out of bed, and from then on, I’m probably going to need a lot of help. Thank you! Amen.

Tags:

Leave a Reply

