A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

http://safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 9 pg. 42 (10-21-10)

AFFIRMATION

I am a prayerful child of God

          After seeing the Dalai Lama last week, I became aware of many wonderful prayers – those to help guide us, those of worship, and those of joyful energies praising the human spirit. Of course, I was then gifted with the following while cleaning out some of my Mom’s personal papers; a very lovely Baha’i prayer, written in her own handwriting.

Oh God, help me to restrain every negative inclination, to subdue any rebellious passion, purify the motives of my conduct to conform myself to that meekness which no provocation can ruffle, to that patience which no affliction can overwhelm, to that integrity which no interest can shake, that I may be qualified to serve thee and teach thy word.

                     Baha’u’llah

What is prayer?  Prayer is our direct line with God. It allows us to speak directly to the Divine and is kind of like a person-to-person call. Cell phones and other devices have become a necessity to some folks, whether it is a Bluetooth device, a Blackberry or a talking computer. These are all means of communication that allow us to talk to one another. Talking to God is the same – we just don’t need any complicated machines to do it. All you need is a few seconds to calm your energies – take a deep breath and either vocally or silently – talk to the Creator.

Praying is like talking to your best friend. It is very easy to talk to someone when you know they love you unconditionally and will always be willing to listen. 

Most major religions involve prayer in one way or another. Some ritualize the act of prayer, requiring a strict sequence of actions or placing a restriction on who is permitted to pray, while we at UCM teach that prayer may be practiced spontaneously by anyone at any time.

I like that prayer may be either individual or a group effort and may take place in public or in private. Whether it is spoken or in a song – such as a hymn, it makes no difference. Some prayers are a part of a formal statement, but others are so spontaneous; such as when you lose your glasses, you see an accident almost happen, or you get a phone call in the middle of the night.

We pray for many reasons; sometimes we pray to ask for things, pray to be thankful, pray for guidance, to confess our sins or to express our thoughts, and other times we pray for protection for ourselves and others. But, it is important that we remember the power of prayer and how valuable it can be in healing, helping and thanking.

For years scientists have studied the use of prayer and its effect on the healing of sick or injured people. The effects of prayer for healing have been evaluated in numerous studies. And, there have been conflicting results. However, miracles are happening every day as the result of prayer – sometimes believing is all it takes!

There are many powerful and famous prayers quoted in history. It isn’t necessary to repeat any specific prayer to benefit from prayer. However, many people find great comfort in meditating over a prayer. So, I offer a few special prayers – from different faiths.  You may have a favorite prayer that you enjoy and feel that others may benefit from it. If so, please share it with us by emailing it to http://safedoti@aol.com.

Song of Amergin – mythical Celtic invocation

I am the wind on the sea. I am the ocean wave.

I am the sound of the billows. I am the seven-horned stag.

I am the hawk on the cliff. I am the dewdrop in sunlight.

I am the fairest of flowers. I am the raging boar.

I am the salmon in the deep pool. I am the lake on the plain.

 I am the meaning of the poem. I am the point of the spear.

 I am the god that makes fire in the head.

 Who levels the mountain?

 Who speaks the age of the moon?

Who has been where the sun sleeps?

Who, if not I?

Prayer for Deliverance – Marianne Williamson

Mary Magdalene, in a dramatic 19th-century pop...

Image via Wikipedia

Dear God,

 

Deliver me to my passion. Deliver me to my brilliance.

Deliver me to my intelligence. Deliver me to my depth.

Deliver me to my nobility. Deliver me to my beauty.

Deliver me to my power to heal. Deliver me to You.

Amen

Margaret Shaw (age 16) – May 15, 2009

Loving and believing in your goodness

I thank you for the beauty put before me.

Asking for serenity and acceptance

I will have the courage to grow.

Giving to and respecting all others

May the world be closer to peace.

Divine Blessing – Hindu Prayer

Atharva Veda (c. 1500 BC)

People praying during Durga puja. Original tit...
Image via Wikipedia

Almighty Lord, if we offer you a devoted mind and heart,

you will offer to us every blessing on earth and in heaven.

You grant our deepest wishes. You give food to the body and peace to the soul.

You look upon us with the love of a mother for her children.

You created this beautiful earth all around us.

And in every plant and animal, every tree and bird, your spirit dwells.

You have revealed yourself to me, infusing my soul with the

knowledge that you are the source of all blessing.

And so I sing your praises day and night.

I, who am feeble, glorify you who are powerful.

I, who am nothing, devote myself to you who are everything.

Healing Prayer (Jewish)

God, hear my prayer,

And let my cry come to You.

Do not hide from me in the day of my distress

Turn to me and speedily answer my prayer.

Eternal God, Source of healing,

Out of my distress I call upon You.

Help me sense Your presence

At this difficult time.

Grant me patience when the hours are heavy;

In hurt or disappointment give me courage.

Keep me trustful in Your love.

Give me strength for today, and hope for tomorrow.

To your loving hands I commit my spirit

When asleep and when awake. You are with me; I shall not fear.

She Who Heals – An American Indian Healing Prayer

Mother, sing me a song

That will ease my pain,

Mend broken bones,

Bring wholeness again.

Catch my babies

When they are born,

Sing my death song,

Teach me how to mourn.

Show me the Medicine

Of the healing herbs,

The value of spirit,

The way I can serve.

Mother, heal my heart

So that I can see

The gifts of yours

That can live through me.

When praying, remember that prayer is not the idle repetition of words or an empty formula. Study the prayer, think about it, feel it, visualize it and repeat it. Or, lovingly write your own.

I always believe that it is much better to have a variety of religions, a variety of philosophies, rather than one single religion or philosophy. This is necessary because of the different mental dispositions of each human being.

Each religion has certain unique ideas or techniques, and learning about them can only enrich one’s own faith.

          His holiness the 14th Dalai Lama

Religions are different roads converging upon the same point. What does it matter that we take different roads, as long as we reach the same goal.

          Mahatma Gandhi 

My Brother Bart was about six years old and was very proud to be asked to say the dinner prayer. Our customary prayer was the very short, Thank you for the food we eat, thank you for the birds that sing – thank you God for everything. My brother in his exuberance said, Dear God – thank you for the birds we eat.  As everyone broke into giggles, my father looked at him and with a wink said, “God loves Laughter!”

Wouldn’t it be nice if whenever we messed up our life we could simply press ‘Ctrl Alt Delete’ and start all over? AMEN, AMEN !! 

PLEASE WATCH THIS VIDEO FOR YOUR SPIRITUAL PLEASURE

www.andiesisle.com/creation/magnificent.html

Leave a Reply

