A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

 

The Signing of Peace in the Hall of Mirrors, V...

Image via Wikipedia

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

http://safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 9 pg. 45 (11-11-10)

AFFIRMATION

Now there is peace on earth and it has begun with me!

 

Why do we celebrate November 11th?

World War I officially ended on June 28, 1919, with the signing of the Treaty of Versailles. The actual fighting between the Allies and Germany, however, had ended seven months earlier with the armistice, which went into effect on the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month in 1918. Armistice Day, as November 11 became known, officially became a holiday in the United States in 1926, and a national holiday 12 years later. On June 1, 1954, the name was changed to Veterans Day to honor all U.S. veterans.

A place for peace

Do you want to live in a peaceful world? Then regularly make a place for peace in your life.

Get in the habit of spending some time each day that’s not filled with frenzied activity. Make some peaceful moments in each day and you’ll begin to see more peaceful qualities in the people, places and events around you.

Peace is not something that can be squeezed in between appointments. To know peace is to commit some time to it.

Find a place of serenity and solitude, and just listen. Let go of the need to fill every second with activity, and, for a while, just be.

Allow the tension to melt away. Relax your body, quiet your thoughts, and experience how it is to be fully in the moment, with all worries and anxieties far, far behind you.

A peaceful world comes from peaceful people. Make a place for peace each day, and a real sense of peace will start to flow from you, right into your world.

Ralph Marston 

PRAY THIS EVEN IF YOU DON’T FEEL LIKE IT!!

IT WILL ONLY TAKE A MINUTE. 

           Dear Mother/Father God, I thank You for this day. I thank You for my being able to see and to hear this morning. I’m blessed because You are a part of me at all times.

          Creator, I pray that you keep me safe from all danger and harm. Help me to start this day with a new attitude and plenty of gratitude and peace.  Please broaden my mind that I can accept all things. Let me not whine and whimper over things for which I have no control.

          I know that when I can’t pray, You listen to my heart. Continue to bless me that I may be a blessing to others. Keep me strong that I may help the weak. Keep me uplifted that I may have words of encouragement for others.  I pray for those that are misjudged and misunderstood. I pray for those who don’t know You are a part of everyone and everything. I pray for all of those men and women in the military at home and abroad that risk their lives to help keep our nation safe and free. I pray for those that don’t believe.

          I know that the Creator changes people, every family member in their households. I pray that everyone has health, peace, love and joy in their homes, that they are out of debt and all their needs are met.

          I pray that every eye that reads this knows there is no problem, circumstance, or situation greater than God.

Submitted by Polly Kam

HUMOR IN UNIFORM

My father was often away on lengthy tours of duty, leaving my mother to manage five kids by herself. While he was gone, we used to sneak into their room to sleep. So before shipping out one time, Dad reminded us to respect Mom’s space and sleep in our own rooms. Upon his return, as Dad disembarked the plane with the rest of his unit, my brother ran up to him, jumped into his arms and loudly announced, “Dad, you’re going to be so happy. While you were gone this time, nobody slept with Mom.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

There’s an Air Force guy driving from McCord to Ft Lewis, and an Army guy driving from Ft Lewis to McCord. In the middle of the night with no other cars on the road they hit each other head on and both cars go flying off in different directions.

The Air Force guy manages to climb out of his car and surveys the damage. He looks at his twisted car and says, “Man, I am really lucky to be alive!”

Likewise the Army guy scrambles out of his car and looks at his wreckage. He too says to himself, “I can’t believe I survived this wreck!”

The Army guy walks over to the Air Force guy and says, “Hey man, I think this is a sign from God that we should put away our petty differences and live as friends instead of archrivals”

The Air Force guy thinks for a moment and says, “You know, you’re absolutely right! We should be friends. Now I’m gonna see what else survived this wreck”

So the Air Force guy pops open his trunk and finds a full, unopened bottle of Jack Daniels.

He says to the Army guy, “I think this is another sign from God that we should toast to our new found understanding and friendship”

The Army guy replies, “You’re right!” and he grabs the bottle and starts sucking down Jack Daniels. After putting away nearly half the bottle the Army guy hands it back to the Air Force guy and says, “Your turn!”

The Air Force guy twists the cap back on the bottle and says, “Nahh, I think I’ll wait for the cops to show up.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Three weeks into training camp, I still hadn’t gotten used to Navy cooking and was surviving on milk and desserts. In one food line, I picked up the biggest piece of cake available and set it on my tray. The mess cook behind the counter saw the gleam in my eye and asked me if I’d like two pieces. When I eagerly answered that I would, the cook leaned over and cut my piece of cake in two.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

After an overnight flight to meet my father at his latest military assignment, my mother wearily arrived with my eight siblings and me – all under age 11. Collecting our many suitcases, the ten of us entered the cramped customs area. A young customs official watched our entourage in disbelief.

“Ma’am,” he said, “do all these children and all this luggage belong to you?”

“Yes, sir,” my mother said with a sigh. “They’re all mine.”

The customs agent began his interrogation: “Ma’am, do you have any weapons, contraband or illegal drugs in your possession?”

“Sir,” she calmly answered, “if I’d had any of those items, I would have used them by now.”

The official allowed us to pass without opening a single suitcase.

Leave a Reply

