A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

http://safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 9 pg. 47 (11-24-10) Thanksgiving Eve

AFFIRMATION

I know that all people are children of God.

November is American Indian Heritage Month

  

 

  

 

 

The First Thanksgiving, painted by Jean Leon G...

Image via Wikipedia

 

  

Happy Thanksgiving to Friends and family

          You may not be having duck, fish and deer for Thanksgiving dinner as was eaten at the original feast. But gathering with family and friends is probably in your plans.

          What we think of as the first thanksgiving in 1621 was made possible in part by friends and neighbors.

          Massasoit, leader of the confederacy of Wampanoag tribes and about 90 of his men brought deer and other meats to the harvest celebration.

          The Pilgrims certainly needed the help of friends. After a year in the New World, their numbers had declined by half and they had faced deprivation and hardship. They were looking at a bleak winter with empty larders; the Wampanoag’s generosity was surely welcome.

          Today, we still get along with a little help from our friends, neighbors and Creator. Let’s give thanks for our countrymen, our families and our faith which help us through good and bad times.

          To all of our family and spiritual friends:  Have a thankful, joyous, and safe holiday. Don’t forget – we will be gathering at Seacliff Beach tomorrow, Thursday, Nov. 25, 2010. If you would like to join us – call Rev. Corky at (408)220-5779.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Oh Great Spirit

Oh Great Spirit whose voice I hear in the winds,

And whose breath gives life to all the world, hear me!

I am small and weak; I need your strength and wisdom.

Let me walk in beauty, and make my eyes ever behold

Image by ConanTheLibrarian via Flickr

 

the red and purple sunset.

Make my hands respect the things you have made

and my ears sharp to hear your voice.

Make me wise so that I may understand the things

 you have taught my people.

Let me learn the lessons you have hidden

in every leaf and rock.

I seek strength, not to be greater than my brother,

but to fight my greatest enemy – myself.

Make me always ready to come to you with clean hands

and straight eyes.

So when life fades, as the fading sunset

my spirit may come to you without shame.

Chief Yellow Lark, Lakota Tribe

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Indians celebrate Thanksgiving Day, except they call it “You’re Welcome Day!”

Jim Ruehl – member of the Bay Mills Band of Ojibwe and a Comedy Jam presenter.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AIN’T

He was just a little boy,

On a week’s first day.

Wandering home from Bible school,

And dawdling on the way.

He scuffed his shoes into the grass;

He even found a caterpillar.

He found a fluffy milkweed pod

And blew out all the ‘filler.’

A bird’s nest in a tree overhead,

So wisely placed up so high.

Was just another wonder,

That caught his eager eye.

A neighbor watched his zigzag course,

And hailed him from the lawn;

Asked him where he’d been that day

And what was going on.

‘I’ve been to Bible School,’

He said and turned a piece of sod.

He picked up a wiggly worm replying,

‘I’ve learned a lot about God.’

‘M’m, very fine way,’ the neighbor said,

‘for a boy to spend his time.’

‘If you’ll tell me where God is,

I’ll give you a brand new dime.’

Quick as a flash the answer came!

Nor were his accents faint.

‘I’ll give you a dollar, Mister,

If you can tell me where God ain’t.’

Have a great day

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Life without God is like an unsharpened pencil……it has no point.

Submitted by Rev. Jan Ewers

Tags:

Leave a Reply

