A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Hotei, god of happiness at J%u014Dchi-ji temple

Image via Wikipedia

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 10 pg 1(01-13-11)

AFFIRMATION

I am ministering to those around me in all that I do.

FINDING A HAPPY HARMONY

I use the phrase, “the art of living in balance” in response to people who ask me how I do it all. “All” being running the Center for Creative Living Healing Center, doing spiritual counseling in my office and on the phone around the world, wearing my ministerial stole and presenting Sunday Celebrations, teaching ministerial classes, planning events, staying in touch with kids and grandkids, having a fantastic 28 year old relationship, writing the Joyful Noise every week and “having a life”. Living in balance is something we can all practice in different ways. Here are guidelines that help:

BE NICE: Niceness can’t be overrated. People who aren’t nice generate unnecessary misery; people who are create tons of pleasure, for themselves and others.

BELIEVE IN KARMA: If someone does something bad to you, let the universe – not you – dole out the punishment. There’s peace in relinquishing that responsibility.

BE STRONG AND BRAVE: Being nice doesn’t mean letting people push you around. Know what you want, believe in yourself, and don’t let fear stop you.

REWARD YOURSELF: My favorite ways are to go out to eat with friends, (breakfast, lunch, dinner or snacks – it doesn’t matter) and my favorite indulgence of all time is to spend Mondays (my day off) staying in bed late reading a good book.

LAUGH A LOT: I can see the humor in almost anything if I think about it. I love to laugh, and I get even more happiness from making others laugh. I use humor in my ministry – and am fond of telling funny stories on myself.

STOP READING DEPRESSING BOOKS AND WATCHING VIOLENT TELEVISION: I’m not talking about news. I’m talking about fiction, entertainment. Find better ways to get a thrill than from other people’s pain. Personally – I prefer old I Love Lucy re-runs!

ALLOW YOURSELF TO FEEL PASSION: Passion is the creative force that fuels almost everything great. It’s free, it’s awesome, and it’s good for you. It could be feeling passion about your work, your art, singing, writing, or window shopping. And, feeling passionate about your relationship makes everything perfect!

BE GRATEFUL: Every night, I thank the universe for my blessings. I ask for guidance too. But mostly I just take time to appreciate my ministry, my business, my family and my home. Everything else has only a fraction of the importance of those gifts.

TAKE A DEEP BREATH – AND BALANCE INTO HARMONY

““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““

Writings of Napolean Hill

Submitted by Barbara Light-McKay

When your desires are strong enough you will appear to

possess superhuman powers to achieve.

No man ever achieved worth-while success who did not, at one time or other; find himself with at least one foot hanging well over the brink of failure.

You can start right where you stand and apply the habit of going the extra mile by rendering more service and better service than you are now being paid for.

“Ministers’ Bloopers” or, Pulpit Speaking Can Be Fun!

As a minister – you never know when your mouth is going to say something other than what your brain had thought:

During an Easter service, I decided to bless the bread and juice we were using for communion. I inadvertently said I was going to “breast the bled.” I started giggling, as did everyone else in the congregation – and in trying to correct myself – said the same thing again. Every once in a while, when I am getting too serious, a member of the CCL congregation loudly reminds me.

I was trying to make a point that lack of communication is the major cause of divorce, but somehow things got mixed up and I said “marriage is the main cause of divorce.”  It took a couple of minutes of giggling from the congregation before I realized my mistake.

Preaching from the New Testament

Matthew 5:  “A hill set on a city cannot be hid.”

Matthew 12:  “as Jonah was in the welly of the bail.”

Matthew 2:  “they offered unto him gifts, gold, and Frankenstein.”
(Could I have used this for a Halloween Service?)

During a Confirmation service, referring to new converts, the pastor asked the 5 new “convicts” to come to the front of the church. Several people left the building because they were laughing so hard.

Studying the intricate dress of the priests in the Old Testament, the pastor came to the part describing how priests put bells on the bottom of their robes. He asked, “Why do you suppose the priests had to tinkle.”  After a second, the class broke up with laughter.

Good luck to our new ministers! Don’t take yourself too seriously. Your next words could be funny! The Creator loves laughter!

““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““““`

Tags:

Leave a Reply

