A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 10 pg 6 (02-10-11)

AFFIRMATION

I am loved and loving

So many folks (men and women) come to my office stating they need to lose twenty, thirty or forty pounds so they and attract the “right person” and this will make all of their troubles go.  They fantasize that being loved by the “right person” will make them all that they have ever wanted to be. But, their appearance keeps them from their goal. The fact is; unless you love yourself JUST THE WAY YOU ARE, that good relationship will always evade you!

“Love yourself,” say the words out load. Did you get a negative reaction?  Did the word “egotistical” come to mind? I don’t mean be self-centered, I mean: respect yourself, protect yourself, and care for yourself.  And do you know what? It’s OK!

Do you like yourself and recognize your good qualities? Do you know you are responsible for your own happiness, self-esteem and fulfillment? Or, do you expect a partner to come into your life to constantly sing your praises and lift your spirits? Or someone to make life absolutely perfect for you? It is unrealistic and unfair to expect a partner to provide this for you. Remember, you are here to live YOUR LIFE – not expect someone else to live it for you! Does that sound harsh?

If so, why not try something new? Start feeling good about yourself. Maybe, if you start small you can sneak up on your insecurities and appreciate who you truly are – A Child of God.

Start with making a written or mental list of five physical qualities that make you proud. They don’t have to be supermodel characteristics. I keep reiterating simple things, such as “I have nice eyebrows and small ears.” You can do the same thing. Find something just perfect about yourself. Next, find five non-physical strengths that you possess. For example, “I am a good listener and I am creative.” Don’t be embarrassed. You are the only one who has to know about this list. Add to it whenever you can.

Make a habit this Valentine/heart month of focusing on all of your good qualities, then work on the areas that you’d like to improve. Be aware of the things that you are sensitive about, so that you can alert others. When you see a positive reflection of yourself – others will react accordingly.

We quite often sing “I Love Myself the Way I Am” at Sunday Celebrations. Read it to yourself – and feel it in your heart!

I love myself the way I am, there’s nothing I need to change
I’ll always be the perfect me there’s nothing to rearrange

I’m beautiful and capable of being the best me I can

And I love myself just the way I am.

I love you the way you are there’s nothing you need to do
When I feel the love inside myself it’s easy to love you

Behind your fears, your rage and tears I see your shining star

And I love you just the way you are.

I love the world the way it is, ’cause I can clearly see
That all the things I judge are done by people just like me

So ’til the birth of peace on earth that only love can bring

I’ll help it grow by loving everything.

I love myself the way I am and still I want to grow.
But change outside can only come when deep inside I know

I’m beautiful and capable, of being the best me I can,

And I love myself just the way I am!  I love myself just the way I am!

Keep this in your heart and say it until YOU BELIEVE IT! And, trust me, great things start happening!

“When you love yourself, you become lovable”

Kim Morris

“In profound love, it is as blessed to give as to receive.  Such love is not unselfish love; of course we give to ourselves when we give to the other.

E. Walster and G. W. Walster

If you want to be loved, be lovable.
Ovid

It is sad not to be loved but it is much sadder not to be able to love.
Miguel De Unamuno

Leave a Reply

