A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 10 pg 15 (04-14-11) Philosophies

UCM Annual Meeting/Conference/Holistic Fair

Design by Reverend Janet Childs


May 13th, May 14th and 15th at CCL

Call UCM or CCL for a program of events.

(UCM: 408-370-6519 or CCL: 408-392-9090)

AFFIRMATION

I live a very spiritual life surrounded by loving and inspirational people

          Like many of you – I receive loads of inspirational and spiritual stories from around the world. Some of them are amazing, some amusing and some just plain silly. However, those that make me think and touched my heart are the ones I keep in my “Joyful Noise file.” The following are some of the philosophical ones – given to you to, hopefully, make you ponder the way you and others look at life. 

Law of the Garbage Truck:

One day I hopped in a taxi and we took off for the airport.  We were driving in the right lane when suddenly a black car jumped out of a parking space right in front of us.

My taxi driver slammed on his brakes, skidded, and missed the other car by just inches!  The driver of the other car whipped his head around and started yelling at us.

My driver just smiled and waved at the guy and I mean he was really friendly. So I asked, ‘Why did you just do that? This guy almost ruined your car and sent us to the hospital!’

That is when he taught me ‘The Law of the Garbage Truck.

He explained that many people are like garbage trucks.  They run around full of garbage, full of frustration, full of anger, and full of disappointment.  As their garbage piles up, they need a place to dump it and sometimes they’ll dump it on you.  Don’t take it personally.  Just smile, wave, wish them well, and move on.  Don’t take their garbage and spread it to other people at work, at home, or on the streets.

The bottom line is that successful people do not let garbage trucks take over their day.

Life’s too short to wake up in the morning with regrets, so — Love the people who treat you right.  Wish the best for the ones who don’t!

          Have a wonderful, garbage-free day! You cannot change other people. You can change your reaction to other people.

(Submitted by Polly Kam)

~~~~~~~~

A Dog’s Purpose?  (From a 6-year-old).

Being a veterinarian, I had been called to examine a ten-year-old Irish Wolfhound named Belker.  The dog’s owners, Ron, his wife Lisa, and their little boy Shane, were all very attached to Belker, and they were hoping for a miracle.

I examined Belker and found he was dying of cancer and offered to perform the euthanasia procedure for the old dog in their home.

Ron and Lisa told me they thought it would be good for six-year-old Shane to observe the procedure.  They felt as though Shane might learn something from the experience.

The next day, I felt the familiar catch in my throat as Belker’s family surrounded him.  Shane seemed so calm, petting the old dog for the last time, that I wondered if he understood what was going on.  Within a few minutes, Belker slipped peacefully away.

The little boy seemed to accept Belker’s transition without any difficulty or confusion.  We sat together for a while after Belker’s Death, wondering aloud about the sad fact that animal lives are shorter than human lives.

Shane, who had been listening quietly, piped up, ”I know why.”

Startled, we all turned to him.  What came out of his mouth next stunned me. I’d never heard a more comforting explanation.  It has changed the way I try to live.

He said, ”People are born so that they can learn how to live a good life — like loving everybody all the time and being nice, right?”

The Six-year-old continued, ‘Well, dogs already know how to do that, so they don’t have to stay as long.”

Remember: if a dog was the teacher you would learn things like:

*When loved ones come home, always run to greet them.

*Never pass up the opportunity to go for a joyride.

*Allow the experience of fresh air and the wind in your face to

be pure Ecstasy.

*Take naps.  Stretch before rising.  Run, romp, and play daily.

*Thrive on attention and let people touch you.

*Avoid biting when a simple growl will do.

*On warm days, stop to lie on your back on the grass.

*On hot days, drink lots of water and lie under a shady tree.

*When you’re happy, dance around and wag your entire body.

*Delight in the simple joy of a long walk.  Be loyal.

*If what you want lies buried, dig until you find it.

*When someone is having a bad day, be silent, sit close by,

and nuzzle them gently.

*ENJOY EVERY MOMENT OF EVERY DAY!

(submitted by lots of dog lovers)

~~~~~~

Sendai, Japan

In Sendai, Japan where she has lived for the past decade teaching English a friend of mine’s cousin sent the following:

Hello My Lovely Family and Friends,

First, I want to thank you so very much for your concern. I am very touched.  I also wish to apologize for a generic message to you all.  But it seems the best way at the moment to get my message to you.

Things here in Sendai have been rather surreal.  But I am very blessed to have wonderful friends who are helping me a lot. Since my shack is even more worthy of that name, I am now staying at a friend’s home.  We share supplies like water, food and a kerosene heater.  We sleep lined up in one room, eat by candlelight, and share stories.  It is warm, friendly, and beautiful.

During the day we help each other clean up the mess in our homes.  People sit in their cars, looking at news on their navigation screens, or line up to get drinking water when a source is open.  If someone has water running in their home, they put out signs so people can come to fill up their jugs and buckets.

Utterly amazingly where I am there has been no looting, no pushing in lines.  People leave their front door open, as it is safer when an earthquake strikes.  People keep saying, “Oh, this is how it used to be in the old days when everyone helped one another.”

Quakes keep coming.  Last night they struck about every 15 minutes.  Sirens are constant and helicopters pass overhead often.

We got water for a few hours in our homes last night, and now it is for half a day.  Electricity came on this afternoon.  Gas has not yet come on. But all of this is by area.  Some people have these things, others do not.

No one has washed for several days.  We feel grubby, but there are so much more important concerns than that for us now.  I love this peeling away of non-essentials.  Living fully on the level of instinct, of intuition, of caring, of what is needed for survival, not just of me, but of the entire group.

There are strange parallel universes happening. Houses a mess in some places, yet then a house with futons or laundry out drying in the sun.

People lining up for water and food, and yet a few people out walking their dogs.  All happening at the same time.

Other unexpected touches of beauty are first, the silence at night. No cars.  No one out on the streets.  And the heavens at night are scattered with stars.  I usually can see about two, but now the whole sky is filled. The mountains of Sendai are solid and with the crisp air we can see them silhouetted against the sky magnificently.

And the Japanese themselves are so wonderful. I come back to my shack to check on it each day, now to send this e-mail since the electricity is on, and I find food and water left in my entranceway.  I have no idea from whom, but it is there.  Old men in green hats go from door to door checking to see if everyone is OK.  People talk to complete strangers asking if they need help.  I see no signs of fear.  Resignation, yes, but fear or panic, no.

They tell us we can expect aftershocks, and even other major quakes, for another month or more.  And we are getting constant tremors, rolls, shaking, rumbling.  I am blessed in that I live in a part of Sendai that is a bit elevated, a bit more solid than other parts.  So far this area is better off than others. Last night my friend’s husband came in from the country, bringing food and water. Blessed again.

Somehow at this time I realize from direct experience that there is indeed an enormous Cosmic evolutionary step that is occurring all over the world right at this moment.  And somehow as I experience the events happening now in Japan, I can feel my heart opening very wide.  My brother asked me if I felt so small because of all that is happening.  I don’t.  Rather, I feel as part of something happening that much larger than myself.  This wave of birthing (worldwide) is hard, and yet magnificent.

Thank you again for your care and Love of me,

With Love in return, to you all.

(Received from Lee Stanford)


“We are no longer small, emotionally reactive human beings

with problems and issues to solve.  Instead we are

becoming creational source beings who share a dance with

Life, who seek the very best in ourselves and others, who

invent a new reality by loving it passionately and powerfully

into being.” ~Source Unknown

~~~~~~

Tags:

2 Responses to “A Joyful Noise!”

  1. Y.M. K. Says:

    These are truly inspirational stories at a time when we desperately need them. Thank you for sharing them with me. I will pass on this wisdom as I am able. Blessings to you all.

    • ourucm Says:

      Thank you so much. Part of our mission is to reach out to a multi-faith community. Please check out our online magazine at http://www.u-c-m.org. The Spring Issue was just published on the website and it is a journey of rituals from around the globe. Rev. Angela

Leave a Reply

