A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 10 pg 18 (05-05-11) Celebrating Motherhood

UCM Annual Meeting/Conference/Holistic Fair

May 13th, May 14th and 15th at CCL

Call UCM or CCL for a program of events.

(UCM:             408-370-6519      

or

CCL:             408-392-9090      

AFFIRMATION

Mother’s are Wonderful women.


Gambian woman and child.

Image via Wikipedia


I have always been a “mother.” Being the oldest of 10 children, the mother of two, grandmother of seven, and foster mother of many. For me mothering is natural and automatic.

I am friends with quite a few women who do not have kids. Some of these women are in a profession, like medicine, where they felt they couldn’t give children the time they needed. Others were unable to conceive, and some never had a partner and felt it wasn’t fair to raise a child all alone.

When Mother’s Day comes along I look at these folks and wonder what they are feeling: Some are angry that they were deprived of children and others regret not allowing that “bundle of joy” into their lives. My heart goes out to those who were not able to raise a child, for what ever reason.

And then there is the group that is content and feels they made the right decision not to include children in their lives, with their pedicures, manicures, a closet full of great clothes and trim figures. And here I am, my stomach protrudes, nails are cracked, shoes run over, gray and balding.

I am envious – sometimes. And then, I read things like the following stories, and remember the joys of motherhood, which just becomes greater when my sons call to say “Hi Mom, Happy Mother’s Day.” And my youngest 3 year old grandchild whispers into the phone, “I love you mema.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MOTHERS

Dorothea Lange's

Image via Wikipedia

Real Mothers don’t eat quiche; they don’t have time to make it.
Real Mothers know that their kitchen utensils are probably in the      sandbox.
Real Mothers often have sticky floors, filthy ovens and happy kids.
Real Mothers know that dried play dough doesn’t come out of          carpets.
Real Mothers don’t want to know what the vacuum just sucked up.
Real Mothers sometimes ask ‘Why me?’ and get their answer when

A little voice says, ‘Because I love you best.’

Real Mothers know that a child’s growth is not measured by height or

Years or grade…It is marked by the progression of Mommy to Mom to Mother…

The Images of Mother
4 YEARS OF AGE –   My Mommy can do anything!
8 YEARS OF AGE –   My Mom knows a lot! A whole lot!
12 YEARS OF AGE – My Mother doesn’t really know quite everything.
14 YEARS OF AGE – Naturally, Mother doesn’t know that, either.
16 YEARS OF AGE – Mother? She’s hopelessly old-fashioned.
18 YEARS OF AGE – That old woman? She’s way out of date!
25 YEARS OF AGE – Well, she might know a little bit about it!
35 YEARS OF AGE – Before we decide, let’s get Mom’s opinion.
45 YEARS OF AGE – Wonder what Mom would have thought about it?
65 YEARS OF AGE – Wish I could talk it over with Mom.

The beauty of a woman is not in the clothes she wears, the figure she carries, or the way she combs her hair.
The beauty of a woman must be seen from in her eyes, because that is the doorway to her heart, the place where love resides.
The beauty of a woman is not in a facial mole, but true beauty in a woman is reflected in her soul.
It is the caring that she lovingly gives, the passion that she shows, and the beauty of a woman with passing years only grows!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A MOTHERS LOVE

Picture By Reverend Irmadean

A little boy came up to his mother in the kitchen one evening while she was fixing supper, and handed her a piece of paper that he had been writing on. After his Mom dried her hands on an apron, she read it, and this is what it said:
For cutting the grass:  $5.00 
For cleaning up my room this week:  $1.00 
For going to the store for you:  $.50 
Baby-sitting my kid brother while you went shopping:  $.25 
Taking out the garbage:  $1.00 
For getting a good report card:  $5.00
For cleaning up and raking the yard:  $2.00 
Total owed:  $14.75
Well, his mother looked at him standing there, and the boy could see the memories flashing through her mind. She picked up the pen, turned over the paper he’d written on, and this is what she wrote:
For the nine months I carried you while you grew inside me:
No Charge!
For nights I’ve sat up with you, doctored and prayed for you:
No Charge!
For the trying times, and tears you’ve caused through the years:
No Charge!
For nights filled with dread, and the worries I knew were ahead:
No Charge!
For the toys, food, clothes, and even wiping your nose:
No Charge!
Son, when you add it up, the cost of my love is:
No Charge!
When the boy finished reading what his mother had written, there were big tears in his eyes, and he looked straight at his mother and said, “Mom, I sure do love you.” And then he took the pen and in great big letters he wrote: “PAID IN FULL.”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Funny Mother’s Day Quotes

·                     “All women become like their mothers. That is their tragedy. No man does. That’s his.” – Oscar Wilde

·                     “A mother is a person who seeing there are only four pieces of pie for five people, promptly announces she never did care for pie.” – Tenneva Jordan

·                     “There is only one pretty child in the world, and every mother has it.” – Chinese Proverb

·                     “You don’t really understand human nature unless you know why a child on a merry-go-round will wave at his parents every time around – and why his parents will always wave back.” – William D. Tammeus.

·                     “My mother had to send me to the movies with my birth certificate, so that I wouldn’t have to pay the extra fifty cents that the adults had to pay.”  KareemAbdul-Jabbar

·                     “My mother had a great deal of trouble with me, but I think she enjoyed it.” – Mark Twain

·                     A teacher gave her class of second graders a lesson on the magnets and what they do. In a written test, she included this question: “My full name has six letters. The first one is M. I pick up things. What am I?” When the test papers were turned in, the teacher was astonished to find that almost 50 percent of the students answered the question with the word Mother!

Tags:

Leave a Reply

