A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 10 pg 20 (05-19-11) FORGIVENESS

AFFIRMATION

I am a forgiving and loving individual.

          Have you ever done anything where you got angry, went into a rage and then afterwards felt awful and stupid? Well, I experienced all of these sensations on Monday of this week and after I got through ranting and raving. I simply stood with my mouth open and said, “Oh my God, I need help.”

After hours of deliberation, lots of prayer, and some good old fashioned talking to myself, I realized I still had lots of resentment and it was taking me into acute depression. Now what! I sent emails of apology, called various folks and generally humbled myself – and yet I still didn’t feel forgiving, but most of all I didn’t feel forgiven.

So, I decided to write about forgiveness – and as God always answers my prayers, tonight Min. Julie Hawkins will be presenting a class in Ho’oponopono! – Which means “to make right with the people with whom you have relationships.” Don’t you love it when God answers so quickly?

I have found one of the most difficult things we humans are ever called upon to do is to forgive and ask to be forgiven.  Study after study shows that one of the keys to longevity and good health is to develop a habit of gratitude and let go of past hurts.
Want to live a long, happy life?  Learn to forgive.  It really is the kindest thing you can do for yourself.

Here are some interesting and worthwhile instructions on how to work with forgiveness.

          1.  Identify who in your life needs forgiveness.  It may be someone who has asked you repeatedly for forgiveness, or it may be someone who has never apologized to you, or sometimes it may be a person who doesn’t even realize they have hurt you!

2. Understand that everyone has made mistakes.  Humans do really nasty things sometimes, and often we wish with all of our hearts we could turn back time and erase those things.  We haven’t figured a way to turn back time yet but we can forgive people who have hurt us, and that will lighten the load on you, and the person who has hurt you.

3. Think back to all of the times you may have hurt someone (intentionally or not), or may have done things that were wrong.  Think how it would feel to you if no one had ever forgiven you for any of those things.  Now remember how good it feels to have someone forgive you.  Keep these feelings in mind at all times.

4. Realize that in order for you to expect people to forgive you, you HAVE to forgive others.  Forgiveness is a two way street.  If you have someone in your life who you have not forgiven (for whatever reason), how can you truly expect forgiveness for your missteps and transgressions?

5.  Take your time.  It may be hard at first.  Don’t wait too long however, or you may never get to forgive them and then you will have to live with that forever.

6. Once you forgive the person, do not bring the situation up ever again.  What I mean is, don’t keep holding it over their head.  You no longer have the right to make them feel bad about what they have done to you.  When you forgive someone forgive them completely.  Do not offer your forgiveness if you do not truly forgive them.

7. Don’t forget to forgive yourself. Remember – you are a Child of God – somewhere along the line – you just forgot!

8. Visit the Center this evening and learn the ancient tools of the Hawaiian Code of Forgiveness –Ho’oponopono!

I’m not sure if this joke is about forgiveness, but here goes.
A woman bought a parrot for a pet. All the parrot did was treat her bad. It insulted her and every time she tried to pick it up, it would peck at her arm.
One day she got fed up with the parrot and as it was insulting her she picked it up, it continued with the insults, “You’re ugly! I can’t stand you!” and it pecked at her arm as she carried it. She opened the freezer door and threw him in and closed the door. From inside, the parrot was still going on for about 5 seconds and then it was suddenly quiet.
She thought, “Oh no, I killed it!” She opened the door and the parrot just looked at her. She picked it up. Then the parrot said:
“I’m very sorry. I apologize for my bad behavior and promise you there will be no more of that. From now on, I will be a respectful, obedient parrot.”

“Well OK” she said, “apology accepted”.

The parrot said “Thank you”. Then he said, “Can I ask you something?”

She said, “Yes, What?”
And the parrot looked at the freezer and asked, “What did the Chicken do?”

When I was young I used to pray for a bike, then I realized that God doesn’t work that way, so I stole a bike and prayed for forgiveness.

Late for a seminar and unable to find parking, I pulled into a spot behind a church. It was only after I’d gotten out of the car that I spotted this sign: “No parking. Forgiveness is our business, but don’t make it harder than it already is.”

Tags:

Leave a Reply

