A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 10 pg 23 (06-09-11) Open Your Heart

AFFIRMATION

I Am Opening My Heart

Welcome from Oceanside, I am here for the graduation of my grandchildren Dylan and Vanessa from High School.

After the wonderful ceremony – we gathered at a restaurant, to eat, talk, laugh and honor the graduates.  I looked around at my incredible family; my heart was open to this loud raucous family and I sorely missed my brother, Dr. Bartlett Falls the uncle of these two beautiful kids. My brother died of AIDS almost two decades ago.

Photograph by Elizabeth Barton

When I returned to my hotel room I read an article in the Los Angeles Times entitled “A mixed picture of AIDS at 30.” I was shocked that the fight against this dreaded disease, discovered three decades ago, goes on medically and socially. I have many friends who are HIV+ or living will full blown AIDS. I have also lost so many special people in my life, not just my younger brother, but my best friend, two of my receptionists and many more. I have also relieved the exhausted care givers, allowing them to get some rest.

In the thirty years since its first recognition. AIDS has killed nearly 30 million people worldwide, including more than 615,000 people in the United States.

As difficult as it has been to attack the virus medically, some say the bigger challenge is finding a way to address the social attitudes and economic realities that have helped make AIDS a worldwide pandemic.

In the United States 50,000 people still become infected with the virus each year – a figure that has scarcely budged in the last 12 years!

This is a time to Open Your Heart to help change attitudes, and energies regarding this difficult disease.

Our wonderful Rev. Janet Childs and a group of fantastic volunteers from the Centre for Living with Dying put on four AIDS retreats a year. These retreats are for those suffering from AIDS, their care givers and others involved in making life easier for all of those people touched by this horrible disease. Incredible body workers, drummers, Reiki Masters, EFT technicians, craft workers and food preparers donate their time and energies in support. These retreats are held at the Center for Creative Living and we are delighted to open up our Center and our hearts for this amazing event.

Take a moment during this June (Pride Month) to send out prayers, love and affirmation statements to all of those people in your life having a difficult time because of this disease. And, if you want more information on how you can help – contact CCL at             (408)392-9090       we have a list of wonderful organizations that would love to have your support.

Tags:

One Response to “A Joyful Noise!”

  1. ourucm Says:

    Join our dialog of Joyful Thoughts and Anecdotes.

Leave a Reply

