A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 10 pg 24 (06-16-11) That’s what friends are for.

Happy Father’s Day

                                                                                                                                                                                            Photograph by Reverend Angela DeBry

AFFIRMATION

I enjoy being a friend and having friends!

          This Sunday we will be celebrating Father’s Day. I don’t know how many of you had a father that was also a friend.  My Dad and I were just 18 years apart in age.  He taught me how to drive (at age seven), kept telling me I could be anything I wanted, and most of all allowed me to “be me.”

Join us at Sunday Celebration this Sunday to hear some of the “great stories about Fathers” from the congregation. But right now, let’s talk about friends.

Why do I have a variety of friends who are all different? How do I get along with such an eclectic collection of diverse personalities? I think that each one helps to bring out a “different” part of me.

With some I am always polite and courteous, with others I joke lightly and uproariously with another group. With some we sit and talk about serious matters. With others I giggle at every silly thing, particularly my younger friends (under age 11). My adult friends and I sometimes e-mail pretty raunchy jokes back and forth (feeling a little guilty as we do so.)

Some of my friends I have known most of my life – and others I just met yesterday.

I have an iced tea or Diet Pepsi with some. And dinner with a lot more. And those who really know me – go to Disney/Pixar movies and share my popcorn.

I listen to some friends’ problems and give them advice; sometimes even when they don’t want it.

Then I listen to others advising me – and sometimes I really listen!

Some of my friends call me daily – others I hear from once a year – on my Birthday.

A lot of my friends live in other States – a couple even out of the Country. And then there are those who have moved here to be close to me; and others who have moved away. I have friends whose hands I held while they moved into Spirit. And, friends I watched being born.

I have friends of various nationalities, cultures, creeds, religions, belief systems. And I have some that are just like me!

We are like pieces of a colorful jigsaw, when completed we form a magnificent treasure box.

“““““““““““““““““““““““““““““

Photograph by Michael Kresbach

A Treasure of Friends!

They are friends (and some relatives) who understand me, even better than I do myself.

They support me through good days and the not-so-good, and even the melt-down days. They are like colorful anti-depressants that I take on different days.

Real Age doctors tell us that friends are good for our health. Dr. Oz calls them Vitamin F (from Friends) and counts the benefits of friends to our well being.

Research shows that people in strong social circles have less risk of depression and terminal strokes.

If you take Vitamin F constantly you can be up to 30 years younger than your real age. The warmth of friendship stops stress and even in your tense moments it decreases the chance of a cardiac arrest or stroke by 50 %.

I am so happy that I have a stock of Vitamin F!

In summary we should value our friends and keep in touch with them.

We should try to see the funny side of things and laugh together, not forgetting to open our mouths big to laugh with and enjoy the wonderful Vitamin F!!!!

Received from my good friend Leland (Lee) Stanford

“““““““““““““““““““““““““““““

Now – join me in singing! Yes, just open your heart and sing out loud. Honestly – no one is listening!

That’s What Friends Are For – (by Stevie Wonder)

And I never thought I’d feel this way

And as far as I’m concerned I’m glad I got the chance to say

That I do believe I love you

And if I should ever go away

Well, then close your eyes and try to feel the way we do today

And then if you can remember

(Chorus)

Keep smilin’, keep shinin’, Knowin’ you can always count on me, for sure

That’s what friends are for!
In good times and bad times I’ll be on your side forever more
That’s what friends are for

Well, you came and opened me

And now there’s so much more I see

And so by the way I thank you

And then for the times when we’re apart Well, then close your eyes and know these words are comin’ from my heart
And then if you can remember, oh

(Chorus)

Let’s do the chorus one more time – because it feels so good.

Keep smilin’, keep shinin’ Knowin’ you can always count on me, for sure That’s what friends are for

In good times, in bad times I’ll be on your side forever more

Oh, that’s what friends are for.

“““““““““““““““““““““““““““““

Two friends, who had lost contact for many years, were catching up with each other. One asked,

“So, you’ve got your own company, huh? How lucky!”

The other replied, “Just a small one, nothing to be proud of.”

Disbelieving, the first queried, “Small? How many people work in your company?”

The other sadly answered, “About half of them.”

Tags:

Leave a Reply

