A Joyful Noise!

U.C.M. Newsletter of Joy, Humor, Laughter, and Inspiration

Editor: Rev. Doti Boon

safedoti@aol.com

Vol. 10 pg 31 (08-04-11) LETTING GO OF FEAR

AFFIRMATION

I am FEARLESS with the help of Mother/Father God

DON’T ALLOW FEAR TO BLOCK YOUR LIFE!

NO ONE ALLOWS FEAR TO BLOCK THEIR LIFE! Now some of you may be balking at that statement, but think about it, if you knew you had fear or if you are feeling fearful, would you really consciously or subconsciously and knowingly allow fear to block your life? No you wouldn’t. You would want to do everything in your power to get rid of your fears.

A Greco-Buddhist statue, one of the first repr...

Image via Wikipedia

We have many fears; fear of terrorism, fear of death, fear of being separated from people we love, fear of losing control, fear of commitment, fear of failure, fear of rejection, fear of losing our job, the list is never-ending!  Many of our present fears are rooted in what Buddha identified as “delusions” – distorted ways of looking at ourselves and the world around us

If we learn to control our mind…the source of all our fear, healthy and unhealthy, is eradicated.

Many fears are feelings that come up in response to things we were told as a child or what you recall from a past life. That is why many of us as adults may be confused as to where this present day fear is coming from.

Fear is a natural reaction to moving closer to the truth.

                   Pema Chodron

I have a morbid fear of flying. Now if you know me well enough you will be laughing; since I travel quite frequently. And, I once had a pilot’s license! However, my fear of someone else flying was so bad that I needed to be medicated before boarding a plane and I usually had to be medicated an hour in advance. My friends do not understand this since I love to travel. I used to worry the plane was going to drop out of the sky or crash into another plane, geese or flying saucers!

So, after trying every imaginable remedy, including hypnosis, positive thinking seminars, and prayer I came up with a fantastic solution – I asked my grandmother to hold up the plane! Now, this may seem strange to those of you who don’t understand basic metaphysics, but for me it was easy.  I simply tapped into my grandmother Eva; who died in 1952, and asked her to hold up the plane.  And now every time I board a plane I envision her large hands supporting the plane throughout the entire flight. And I no longer have that profound fear of flying.

Many of our fears, if not all of them, had their beginning somewhere in our childhood. How would I know? Well for one, every time I looked behind one of my fears, I saw they originated in my childhood. They just manifested differently to fit the time frame I was living in.  It is easier to believe or accept that we as adults created those fears in our Minds. Let me give you an example of childhood issues holding us hostage as Adults.

As a child I was raised in many different faiths as my parents experienced religious changes. I was criticized as a young girl. I was very out spoken and often challenging. This did not always go over well; particularly from the well meaning nuns who wanted me to sit down and shut-up!

I’ve noticed for awhile now that I have a fear of moving forward in my ministry. I couldn’t understand it until I read an article about fear and I realized that I was scared of going public and expanding on the inter-net, finishing my book, going back on radio, doing a U-Tube presentation, because I was afraid that I would be criticized all over again. Now that may or may not be true, but it was a fear that was embedded in my psyche and it was blocking me and preventing me from moving forward towards growing the Center for Creative Living. When I came to the realization of what was blocking me, it felt like a HUGE boulder was removed from my head. And immediately – more folks started attending services!

You can have it all. A life of abundance, financial success, the job of your dreams, the relationship of your dreams, but I can assure you that if you are not having these things right now, it’s because there is some fear manifesting in your subconscious. Now you can do Past-life Regressions, look into hypnosis or visit a therapist.  Or you can try taking small steps to looking deeper within at each of your fears.

If you have a fear of not having enough money, look into your childhood and see what messages you might have picked up about money from your parents or early caretakers. Were they always pinching pennies and complaining that everything is too expensive? Now look at yourself and where your life is, do you have the same view or is it that you are just regurgitating what you saw around you as a child?

Do you have a fear of success? Was your family ever financially successful or were they constantly complaining that life is hard? If that was the case, then you will pick up as a child that success is either hard to get or it does not exist. A lot of your fears that may be blocking your life now may be Adult-ified, but they all had a beginning in your childhood. Regarding my fear of flying, it was about control. As a child I was always moving from place to place and I never quite felt grounded. So my fear of flying came from a fear of not being grounded. And I realized the only stability I had was my grandmother; thus the large hands holding the plane.

There is nothing in life that is impossible to get. They only seem impossible because your fears are rearing their ugly heads working overtime to prevent you from moving forward in your life. You may have heard messages of doom and the fight for survival for so long that your Mind cannot conceive anything else.

Living the life you desire is not as simple as changing your thoughts as some would like you to believe. You may change your thoughts on the surface, but the root of those thoughts still exists deep in your subconscious and unless you get to the root you will be constantly working on changing your thoughts. Get to the root of your thoughts and fears, weed them out so they don’t come back and attack you thus getting rid of them forever. Once you start uprooting your fears from their origin, you will begin to see your life moving forward at an extremely rapid pace.

Ideas suggested by Trudy Ewan.

Fear stopped Burglary

An elderly woman had just returned to her home from an evening of religious service when she was startled by an intruder. As she caught the man in the act of robbing her home of its valuables, she yelled, “Stop – Acts 2:38!” (…turn from your sin…).  The burglar stopped dead in his tracks. The woman calmly called the police and explained what she had done.

As the officer cuffed the man to take him in, he asked the burglar, “Why did you just stand there? All the old lady did was yell a scripture to you.”

“Scripture?” replied the burglar, “She said she had an AXE and two 38’s!”

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

“The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear.”
— H.P. Lovecraft

“What we fear comes to pass more speedily than what we hope.”
—- Publilius Syrus – Moral Sayings (1st C B.C.)

“The only thing we have to fear is fear it’s self – nameless, unreasoning, unjustified, terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance.”
—- FDR – First Inaugural Address, March 4, 1933

Tags:

Leave a Reply

