Sacred Times

            
        
           Sacred Times
                                                       Editor: Reverend Felecia Mulvany, D.D.
 Universal Church of the Master
1361 S Winchester Suite 115, San Jose CA 95128

 Presidents Message

 Reverend Sandy Clark

  Rev Sandy Clark Final 8 14 2012

I do not know about any of you, but the energy in our world today for me has been anything but smooth!

I hate to admit that the other day trying to get to the office early; I was behind a car for a red light. No problem, it was a long light, at least it felt that way to me, and after a short time I noticed the driver in the car ahead of me start to reach for something on the floor of the passenger seat. Now the light turns green, this person is not paying attention and holding up the line to proceed through the intersection. As soon as I realized what was happening I laid my hand on the horn of my car so fast I startled myself. I cannot remember the last time I used the car horn. I was so surprised at my swift reaction that it took my breath away. Talk about getting hit on the head with a two by four.

With our office move my regular routine has been challenged. Things are not in the places they were before, and we decided we had room for bookcases and books that we had not originally believed we would have space for. Those bookcases are in the process of being moved in today. Then there are the boxes of books to bring in and unpack.

I had really expected we would be organized and back up to speed so to speak by now, that is not the case. As with the move here at the office, I find my personal life in a bit of a whirl, and in looking around me, it appears so are many of you. When I am finding myself feeling a bit stressed, I am taking a deep breath, exhaling the feelings of frustration and anger and taking another breath filled with Love and Light, continuing to do that until my body feels relaxed and I am able to work again. Today there have been four things requiring my time and attention at the same time. None of them are two minute projects. I have been taking a lot of deep breaths.

Many of you have heard me say, no matter what, the sun will still come up in the morning, regarding frustrations we may have about how something is coming along or something we have done that did not go well or as expected. I truly believe that we did the best we could at the time, over a given situation. This does not take into consideration hind sight. We can only work with the information we have at the time, that is where the lesson comes from. We learn from our experience, how to either do it better, or not to do it again.

Our world is filled with fear at the moment; my commitment is to bring Light into the darkness even if it is one breath at a time. Sometimes Sprit has to remind me I need to be breathing more.

My plan for the next issue is to have pictures of the organized office! Let’s see what spirit has in mind.

I want you to know we now have an editor for our UCM on-line magazine. Reverend Mary Garry, our newest Trustee has volunteered to assume this responsibility. Mary will need the same support that you all gave to our previous editor, Reverend Angela DeBry. Angela is helping to bring Mary up to speed and they hope to have the transitional issue magazine out soon.

With Light and Love,

Sandy

 Forest

Lost

By David Wagoner (1999)

Courtesy of Core Wisdom®

 

Stand still.

The trees ahead and bushes beside you are not lost.

Wherever you are is called “Here,”
And you must treat it as a powerful stranger,
Must ask permission to know it and be known.

The forest breathes. Listen. It answers,
I have made this place around you.
If you leave it, you may come back again, saying “Here.”
No two trees are the same to Raven.
No two branches are the same to Wren.
If what a tree or a bush does is lost on you,
You are surely lost.

Stand still.

The forest knows where you are.

You must let it find you.

Lotus Flower    

 .

Balance Through the Goddess

By Mary Byrns

I give up!

That’s what I told myself when I found I could not be part of a commemoration of the temple of Murugan, during our contracted stay in Singapore. Back in 2009, there was an e-mail informing certain followers of Siva Baba (to whom I was introduced and learning certain principles from), that the temple, which underwent renovation December of 2009, would be consecrated on the 17th of January, 2010. I asked a friend the day before the grand opening if she would be attending and she said no, but she advised me to go early.

I was on time, but I found after I made my way through crowds and overpasses that I wasn’t allowed to go in. One had to have a special pass or invitation to get past the guards.   Many people parked themselves on the road overpass, at the gas station across the street from the temple, on the grassy road dividers separating roads, just to hear the ceremony reverberating through loudspeakers, which was spoken in Tamil, the local language of the South Indian community here in Singapore.

I took pictures and walked back to the car, wondering why the Siva Baba organizers did not tell us a special invite was needed. I went over the e-mail in my mind and understood that the message did not specifically say that the faithful were invited to come to the gathering. It was merely an informative message telling Baba’s followers what was happening relevant to Baba’s visit here in Singapore and that the temple’s renovation was done and would be opening today.

As I walked back to my parking space, I saw an Indian man in a bright pink shirt with an invite peeking out through his shirt pocket. I was jealous and upset about being misled. Or so I thought.

I decided to accept what appeared to be a blocked experience of the Murugan temple for me and silently in my mind, sent an affirmation of blessing and release to those who had sent the informative e-mail and to those who were holding the temple consecration.

Little did I know that the next day held its own balance.

A month earlier, during another temple meditation, I had experienced a vision of the dancing form of Lord Siva, in his aspect of Creator. After the meditation was over, I left the lecture early and found a gentleman putting his shoes on outside the temple. I breezily said to him, “Oh you’re leaving early too, are you?” Curious about the necklace I had seen him and many other devotees wearing, I asked about them. He immediately gave me a mini-lecture on the history and meaning of the beads and offered to purchase me one. I was a bit taken aback as I had not experienced this before, but I agreed, although tentatively.

Rav also revealed to me he was the Vice President of a Siva temple!

I told myself to give thanks to Lord Siva when I got home as I was experiencing a miracle. I had always prayed the “Om Namaha Sivai” mantra, but I had never expected Lord Siva to personally intercede for me.

Nonetheless, Rav came back from a pilgrimage to the Palani Temple in Southern India which he told me was a Murugan temple.

I actually phoned him and put in a request for a clear crystal necklace, which I had been told was the type of necklace I needed to help me with my writing. Lord Siva answered that request with a new, faceted quartz crystal set of beads, specifically made and sold, at the site of a Murugan Temple in India itself, Rav told me!

Rav then phoned me and invited me to the temple he helped to manage, which he later explained, was the temple of the mother of Lord Murugan!

I had to laugh because although I am learning about the mantras and slowly, slowly, am coming to understand who’s who in the Hindu panoply of gods, I have been a devotee of the Goddess energy and here she was again. It wasn’t Lord Murugan who was to give me the blessing; it was his Divine Mother, herself! Once again, the Goddess revealed herself to me!

I do not know why I feel compelled towards Lord Murugan. He is the God of “Everything” as one temple devotee explained to me when I asked. He carries a vel, an instrument which resembles a trident, and he rides a peacock and is also accompanied by a rooster, who drives away his enemies. Murugan is able to help one judge fairly and well and his aim is to win through litigation and court cases.

So despite having been blocked at the temple of Lord Murugan, I found myself at his mother’s temple, Sri Ratha Kaliaman, where my crystal beads were consecrated around the statue of Lord Murugan himself! There at the temple, I was taught to pray to Lord Ganesh, the remover of obstacles, after telling him what I wanted. Then I was offered the fire offering after it was offered to statues of Lord Murugan and his mother. I placed my hands around its flames and brought my hands symbolically around my crown and head, to transmit the purification of fire and spiritual light.

Kum-kum (a red holy powder) and vibutthi (holy ash made from cow dung) were then offered to me, as well as holy water, all of which I took in my right hand, applying with my left ring finger to my ajna or third eye.   I had to drink the holy water from my cupped palm.

Although flashes of questionable hygiene ran through my mind, I chose to trust and allow. I was also in a state of wonder, since the day before I couldn’t even SEE, much less, ENTER, the actual temple of Lord Murugan, and here I was, standing before his statue and his mother’s altar and statue, claiming a blessing from him transmitted through my crystal necklace!

I realized then that my state of neutrality was real and that I wasn’t angry. I had been worried into thinking that others thought less of me, that others judged me as an angry person, but really, I wasn’t. I was confused and ignorant of the doings of the temple and the ritual of consecration, but in the end, found out that although I wanted to experience a blessing from Lord Murugan at the temple consecration, I was actually receiving a LIVE and PERSONAL blessing through my new friend Rav, whom I had been personally guided to by Lord Siva in a vision.

And so, I ended up in a state of grace, appreciation and divine gratitude. I was in a state of awe at the doings of universal synchronicity and marveling at the methods I arrived at. It was not to come through Lord Murugan, but through his Mother, through his Divine Mother herself, who was to bring me the blessing.

On a last note, Rav told me the reason there were crowds of people at the previous day’s consecration, despite the privileged few who had been invited and allowed in. The crowds were waiting for the blessed water which had been distributed through those in line. He then pulled out a container of the water one of his colleagues had brought him from the temple, and offered me a sip of the holy liquid!

Once again, the Goddess revealed herself to me, going through the channels of Lord Siva, her son Murugan and the human channel of her devotee, Rav, my new friend. She gave me the most precious of earthly offerings, the gift of water, a liquid only the goddess knows how to give, a liquid planet earth is made up of, in large percentages, a liquid our human bodies are made up of, which keeps us, I believe, in a youthful state and also keeps fluidity and flexibility in our psyches. I accepted those gifts and understandings humbly and with grace, grateful to have such a unique experience and interaction with the Mother energy and her followers.

From art to healing, to bird-raising, go ahead and explore. In the end, you may be comforted by my Northern Indian friend who speaks Malaya-Alaam, who in her words when I asked her if she believed in the god Murugan, said, “No, I’ve heard of him. But I don’t believe in praying to that god or this god. I believe in praying to the Universal God, the God of Light and Consciousness. This is what they teach at my ashram. This is what I know. This is what I believe in.”

Another friend of mine who worships at another kind of temple, a Punjabi one , whose God is a name I am unfamiliar with, told me she goes to that specific temple, offering sugar, oil and salt while requesting divine interventions for her health and her problems with her children. She also went to the Novena church, a Catholic church whose attached school she had gone to as a child – so it was with a mixed background she had gone to ask for divine help. Familiarity and the offering of blessings for her body and her family were her measuring rods.

Mine were familiarity with Divine Mother and my understanding of what methods she uses to heal the body and the spirit. She is the starting point of God for me, and that gives me a broader vision of what is holy and kind in life.

Ultimately, whatever is a grander, broader, more cosmic view of God may simplify your days so that you don’t have to bother with honoring this special hour because it’s this planet’s special province and that planet corresponds with this God, who if you pray to him or her, will grant you boons, protection or rewards.

Whatever works for you, works for you. For those of us whose priority is working at a job, because the grand million dollar windfall just won’t come, it just might be easier to go with a sincere heart and mind, and pray each time you are anxious, worried or feeling incomplete, and ask for the God of Light to bring you comfort, joy, ease. here is peace in that. And where there’s peace, there will be harmony. Now that makes me feel better, more hopeful and less inclined to give up!

Mary holds and M.A. in counseling. She currently resides in Korea and is a counselor, writer and teacher. She studied at Solar Cross, “A New Beginning”, and has written for Alchemy Magazine. Her interests are spiritual, health, wellness and fitness.

Classes and Events

UCM Church Charters

Center for Creative Living, UCM #801, CA

Reverend Doti Boon

1460 Koll Circle, Ste. C, San Jose CA 95112

(408) 392-9090safedoti@aol.com
Psychic Readings, Spiritual counseling, Memorials, Weddings, Baptisms, Retreats, Workshops, Metaphysical and Spiritual Training Classes

www.centerforcreativeliving-ucm.com

Sunday Celebrations

Every Sunday from 10:00-11:30am

Classes

Every Wednesday, 6:00 to 9:00, Lideres en Accion (in Spanish)

Go to www.centerforcreativeliving-ucm.com for more information and for calendar of events

Chapel of Spiritual Fellowship, UCM #723, CO

Reverend Ronald Wills

303-288-0143chapelofspirit@aol.com

Sunday Church Services at 10AM, Readings, Healings and Spiritual Counseling

Memorial Chapel, UCM #706, NY

Reverend Marlene Smith

178 Chapin Street, Binghamton NY 13905

607-722-5569

Sunday Evening Services 6:30 PM, Healing Meditation and Message Work

Temple of Love and Healing, UCM #759, FL

Reverend Sarah Novak

3700 40th Ave. N, St. Petersburg FL 33714

727-522-7133

www.templeofloveandhealing.us

Worship & Healing Services Sunday and Wednesday from 7:00 – 9:00PM, Monthly ESP Fiesta & Message Circles, Ceremonies & Seminars

Yoga: Mondays 6PM & 7:15Pm

See website for full yoga schedule

Universal Church of the Master – Alberta, UCM #826, Canada

Reverend Kim Beckett

Church Services are held on the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of the month

1-877-CHAKRA1, UCMAlberta@shaw.ca

UCM Members

Reverend April Lussier

Monthly World Peace Meditation 

7:30-9:30PM

Sept 24, Oct 22, Nov 19, Dec 10 and a special Dec 31, 2012 at 4:00 AM early morning of the last day of the year.

Come join the community as we gather to pray and meditate for peace in the world, communities, neighborhoods and personal lives.

Location: Center for Creative Living, 1460 Koll Circle Suite C. San Jose. Sanctuary entrance and parking in the back of building.

Sabbat

Women’s Spirituality Celebrations

Gather 6:30PM Cast 7PM

Location: 895 Le Compte Pl San Jose 95122

Cost: $20 Our Gatherings take place in an enclosed patio. Please bring an open heart, snack to share after the ceremony, rattle or drum (optional), shawl for over your shoulders in the cool night air.

Sept 29 Mabon/Fall Equinox

Oct 28 Hallowmas/Samhain

Dec16 Yule/Winter Solstice

Jan 27, 013 Candlemas Sun

Goddess Spirituality Retreat

Oct 12-14, 2012

A time for rejuvenation, remembering and connecting with the Divine Feminine. The retreat includes Sacred Ceremony, Meditation, Movement, Yoga, Healing Ritual, Hiking, Chanting, Drumming, Labyrinth, Sisterhood, Self-care and much more.

$200- $250 sliding scale

Includes food, lodging, and ceremonies

(408) 289-9188aprillussier@sbcglobal.net,www.SacredMagicRevApril.com

Minister Joy Reichard

Monthly In Her Name Goddess Circles

Reclaim the Divine Feminine both within and without.

Circle is held in San Mateo, California. For more information and calendar of events visit http://www.celebratedivinefeminine.com

Reverend Kala Ambrose

Exploring Your Akashic Records, Past Lives and What the Future Holds For You

August 16, 23 and 30, 2012

Three-week Live Video Webinar Series with Kala and Sandy who will answer your questions in real time.

For more information and to register go tohttp://www.exploreyourspirit.com/events.html

To learn more about Kala and all of her offerings please visit http://www.exploreyourspirit.com

 

Reverend Richard Jelusich, Ph.D.

www.lightnews.org

Healers Training Classes and Webinars

Healer’s Training is an 18-Level, 2 year healing course and a journey that blends philosophy, technique and experiential healing into a beautiful unfolding of your own awareness.

Webinars

Aug 16 – Intuition, Children and Family

Sept 4 – Maya Path to 2012 with Miguel Angel (Free)

Sept 6 – Equinox Energies

Sept 25 – Level 2 of CHAKRA Series

Oct 10 – Maya Path to 2012 with Miguel Angel (Free)

Nov 8 – Maya Path to 2012 with Miguel Angel (Free

Lighted Pathway to Superconsciousness – Everything you wanted to know about the chakras. Come explore with us the universe of consciousness that is the chakras of the human being. For more information go to – http://lightnews.org/events/Webinars.html

Journey to Sacred Mayan Sites

November 23 – December 2

Creating a New Era as the Journey Continues

December 9 – 18
Balancing the chakras as we birth a new Maya era

For more information visit www.lightnews.org

Quick Links

 
 
 
 
 About UCM UCM was founded as a church in which members are encouraged to develop and exercise their spiritual powers. We discourage adherence to rigid dogmas and tenets, believing that each person must find and travel his/her own path in the Light, and that no single set of fixed rules is applicable to everyone in their spiritual quest.

From its earliest years, UCM has emphasized spiritual healing, prophecy and demonstrations of the continuity of life beyond the transition commonly called “death”. As we move closer to world unity and a new age of Universal Brotherhood and Sisterhood, UCM is now placing greater attention upon training and developing the spiritual powers of its ministers to bring us into this new “Golden Age”.

UCM Educational       Programs  

 

UCM Ordained Minister Sponsored Program

  • Healer Practitioner Certification
  • Licentiate Minister Certification
  • Ordained Minister Certification

Healer Practitioners and Licentiate Ministers – administer and perform Divine healing, to give counsel, inspirational and spiritual messages and instruction, and to teach the gospel of Christ and Universal Truth.

Ordained Ministers (Reverend) – perform all the duties of a licentiate minister, plus marriage ceremonies, christenings, baptism, funeral and memorial services.

Reverends may sponsor students for the ministry and may hold UCM Church Charters.

Accredited Degree Program

  • Associate of Theology
  • Bachelor of Theology
  • Master of Theology
  • Doctor of Divinity

Accredited by Accrediting Commission International, Inc.

Registered with the California Bureau for Private Postsecondary and Vocational Education, Religious Exemption #7472210

For more information visit www.u-c-m.org

We welcome your articles.

Those of you who would like to contribute a short article on your particular ritual, experience, or idea that are sacred to your spiritual practice please email

staff@u-c-m.org

When submitting your short article, please also give written permission for UCM to use your article along with any contact information and/or photograph you would like displayed with that article.

UCM Members

Classes and Events

 

Are you a member of UCM?

Would you like your classes and events posted in the UCM Sacred Times Newsletter?

Email class and event information to

staff@u-c-m.org

 

Volunteer

Opportunities

Create Videos

Marketing

Fundraising

Grants

On-line Footprint

Magazine Editor

Office/Clerical Help

Filing

Mailings

Special Projects

Outreach

Sacred Times

Sponsors

 

Your

Business Card

Here

Be a Sponsor

For the UCM Monthly

Sacred Times Newsletter

$30 Prepaid

1 month

$85 Prepaid

3 months

$160 Prepaid

6 months

$300 Prepaid

1 year

Send a pdf of your

business card to

staff@u-c-m.org

Checks, PayPal &

Credit Card accepted

Universal Church of the Master

1361 S. Winchester Blvd. Suite 115

San Jose CA 95128

408-370-6519

staff@u-c-m.org

www.u-c-m.org

Universal Church of the MasterIn service to humanity since 1908

Tags:

3 Responses to “Sacred Times”

  1. Lost in the bright light of wisdom. « My Blog Says:

    […] Sacred Times (ucmblog.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Order of the Braying Ass « Oreo ab Chao Says:

    […] Sacred Times (ucmblog.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

